Advisory Committee of the PEN

The work of the PCBs Elimination Network is overseen by an Advisory Committee. The Advisory Committee meets annually to review the activities undertaken by the PEN and establish the direction for future work of the PEN. The tasks of the Advisory Committee are:

  • To review and endorse the workplan and activities for the PEN that are proposed by the Secretariat;
  • To endorse the establishment of thematic groups and nominate entities to chair such groups;
  • To approve the budget for the work of the PEN;
  • To establish a strategy for the mobilisation of resources to support the workplan of the PEN;
  • To review and endorse a report on the work and future plans of the PEN for the COP and the general membership;
  • To prepare the criteria and the process for the selection of awardees and other incentives.

The Advisory Committee is composed of 16 representatives from the different categories of stakeholders in the PEN. Ten of the members of the Advisory Committee include two representatives of the Parties to the Stockholm Convention from each of the five UN regions respectively, which have been chosen by the Bureau of the Conference of the Parties to the Stockholm Convention.

Committee Members

The members of the Advisory Committee for 2009-2013 that represent Stockholm Convention Party countries are as follows:

African States
Ms. Stella Mojekwu
Mr. Aloys Kamatari
Asian and
Pacific States
Mr. Jinhui Li
Ms. Sanaz Jafarzadeh
Central and Eastern
European States
Mr. Ion Barbarasa
Ms. Daniela Certikova
Latin American and
Caribbean States
Ms. Anna Ortiz
Costa Rica
Mr. Tara Dasgupta
Western European
and other States
Ms. Pauline Langeron
Mr. Niklas Johansson


The members that represent the other stakeholder categories are as follows:

Mr. Urs K. Wagner
ETI Environmental Technology Ltd.
Holders of PCBs
Mr. Mellon Chinjila
ZESCO Limited
Mr. Hugues Levasseur
Tredi International
Intergovernmental Organizations
Mr. Mohammed Eisa
United Nations Industrial Development Organization
Mr. Matthias Kern
Secretariat of the Basel Convention
Non-Governmental Organizations
Mr. Alan Watson
International POPs Elimination Network (IPEN)