20th anniversary of the adoption of the Stockholm Convention

The Stockholm Convention was adopted on 22 May 2001 in Stockholm, Sweden, and entered into force on 17 May 2004.

As of its 20th anniversary in 2021 the Convention had 184 Parties, making it near universal in its geographical coverage.

To celebrate this milestone, the Secretariat produced the video series “Twenty Voices for Twenty Years” to gather, document and share stories, experiences, successes from the Convention’s first 20 years.

This video series is made possible thanks to the funding generously provided by the Government of Sweden.

Celebrating 20 years of the Stockholm Convention 20 Voices - for 20 Years

Watch below the summary of the video series in 10-minute, 6-minute and 3-minute formats. Subtitles available in the 6 UN languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish.


Watch the 20 featured interviews below, which illustrate the two-decade journey of the Stockholm Convention. The interviews include Rolph Payet, Mahmood Khwaja, John Buccini, Johanna Lissenger Peitz, Sam Adu-Kumi, Sheila Watt-Cloutier, Bo Wahlstrom, Jim Willis, Olga Speranskaya, Noluzuko Gway, Ramon Guardans, Jewel Batchasingh, Tadesse Amera, Carlos Manuel Rodriguez, Elham Refaat Abdelaziz, Gabriela Medina, Anahit Aleksandryan, Mohammed Khashashneh, Hassan Azhar, and Maria delvin. Subtitles available in English, French and Spanish.