# 4. <u>Technical guidelines on transboundary movements of electrical and electronic waste and used electrical and electronic equipment, in particular regarding the distinction between waste and non waste under the Basel Convention</u>

<u>Decision:</u> BC-15/7: Technical guidelines on transboundary movements of electrical and electronic waste and used electrical and electronic equipment, in particular regarding the distinction between waste and non waste under the Basel Convention

#### Background:

In decision BC-15/7, the Conference of the Parties decided to extend the mandate of the expert working group established by paragraph 5 of decision BC-13/5. It requested it to prepare updated technical guidelines, taking into consideration the comments received on the results of the use and/or testing of the technical guidelines, the amendments to Annexes II, VIII and IX to the Basel Convention adopted in decision BC-15/18 and paragraph 4 of decision BC-14/5, and to submit them for the consideration of the Conference of the Parties at its sixteenth meeting.

### Follow-up:

	Call for information	Respondents	Deadlines for submission
(a)	Each regional group is invited to reconsider their nomination and nominate, as appropriate, through its Bureau representatives, members of the expert working group with relevant knowledge and expertise.	Parties, through their Bureau representatives (see below)	15 August 2022
	Information on current membership is available on the website. <sup>1</sup>		
(b)	Parties and others are invited to submit the results of their use and/or testing of the technical guidelines to the Secretariat.	Parties Others	31 October 2022

#### Contact person:

Ms. Carla Valle-Klann, email: <a href="mailto:carla.valle@un.org">carla.valle@un.org</a>.

## **Bureau representatives:**

- <u>Africa region:</u> Mr. Karim Ouamane (karim.ouamane@gmail.com) and Mr. Joseph Edmund (joseph.edmund@epa.gov.gh);
- Asia and Pacific region: Ms. Rosa Vivien Ratnawati (kst.pslb3@gmail.com) and Mr. Mohamed Aman (maman@sce.gov.bh);
- <u>Eastern European region</u>: Ms. Magda Gosk (m.gosk@gios.gov.pl) and Mr. Artak Khachatryan (artak.khachatryan@env.am);
- <u>GRULAC</u>: Ms. María Eugenia Gonzales Anaya (megonzalez@sre.gob.mx) and Mr. Miguel Eduardo Ruiz Botero (migueleduardo.ruiz@cancilleria.gov.co);
- WEOG: Mr Reginald Hernaus (<u>reggie.hernaus@minienw.nl</u>) and Ms. Lana Barbour (<u>lana.barbour@awe.gov.au</u>).

<sup>1</sup> http://www.basel.int/Implementation/Ewaste/TechnicalGuidelines/ExpertWorkingGroup/tabid/8232/Default.aspx.