Bureau of the COP

In accordance with Rule 22 of the rules of procedure of the Stockholm Convention, as adopted in decision SC-1/1, and amended by decision SC-5/1, the Conference of the Parties shall elect at each ordinary meeting a President and nine Vice-Presidents, one of whom shall act as Rapporteur. These officers shall serve as the Bureau of the Conference of the Parties.

The members of the Bureau shall commence their terms of office at the closure of the meeting at which they are elected and remain in office until the closure of the following ordinary meeting of the Conference of the Parties, including for any intervening extraordinary meeting.

Each of the five United Nations regional groups shall be represented by two Bureau members. The offices of the President and Rapporteur shall normally be subject to rotation among the United Nations regional groups. No elected officer may serve on the Bureau for more than two consecutive terms.

Members of the Bureau

Current members of the Bureau

The members of the Bureau, to serve until the closure of the eighth meeting of the Conference of the Parties, are as follows:


  • Mr. Sam Adu-Kumi (Ghana - Africa)


  • Mr. Ali Mohammed Ali Mahmoud (Sudan - African group) 
  • Mr. Nguyen Anh-Tuan (Vietnam - Asia and the Pacific group)
  • Mr. Ali Al-Dobhani (Yemen - Asia and the Pacific group)
  • Ms. Ana Berejiani (Georgia - Central and Eastern Europe)
  • Ms. Daina Ozola (Latvia - Central and Eastern European group)
  • Mr. Luís Ignacio Vayas Valdivieso (Ecuador - Latin American and Caribbean group)
  • Mr. Marcus Natta (Saint Kitts and Nevis - Latin American and Caribbean group )
  • Mr. Andrew McNee (Australia - Western European and Other group)
  • Mr. Reggie Hernaus (The Netherlands - Western European and Other group)
Bureau Members, May 2015 - May 2017 (COP.8)

The Chair of the POPRC is a member ex-officio of the Bureau.

Former members of the Bureau

Bureau Members, May 2013 - May 2015 (COP.7)
Bureau Members, May 2011 - May 2013 (COP.6)
Bureau Members, May 2009 - May 2011 (COP.5)
Bureau Members, May 2007 - May 2009 (COP.4)

Meetings of the Bureau